Details: | Created: 16 October 2017 | Hits: 1743


Ballymana NS Senior Boys
Galway Primary Schools East Division Cross Country Champions 2017


Coldwood NS Senior Girls
 who qualified for the Galway Primary Schools Cross Country Finals
- a nice achievement and the first time in many years



Craughwell NS Senior Boys
Galway Primary Schools Cross Country Champions 2017

The last 2 Tuesdays has seen the Galway Primary Schools Cross Country Semis and Finals take place in Renmore with all the usual high-octane energy from over 1600 children in the semis and approx. 500 in the finals. Renmore was literally awash with athletes on day 1 for the semis with the highest numbers ever to take part in the event and a great vote of confidence for the organisers.

From the club’s perspective, it was a huge success with Ballymana NS emerging as East Division Champions on day 1 and Coldwood NS qualifying for the finals for the first time in recent history and teams from Craughwell, Clarinbridge, Oranmore, Ardrahan, Ballyglass, Killeeneen and Carrabane also making it into the finals.

In the finals, Craughwell NS shone with team victory in both senior races and team silver in the junior girls race, adding to their fine history in this event.


Craughwell NS Senior Girls
Galway Primary Schools Cross Country Champions 2017


Craughwell NS Junior Girls
Galway Primary Schools Cross Country Silver Medallists 2017

Well done also to individuals from the club placing in the top 15 including in the Junior Girls Ardrahan’s Saoirse Mullins 4th, Craughwell’s Ella Farrelly and Sarah Craven 5th and 9th and Killeeneen’s Ellen Kelleher 14th; in the Junior Boys Carrabane’s Cian Connaughton 3rd and Clarinbridge’s Fionn Higgins 8th; in the Senior Girls Craughwell’s Clodagh O’Meara 4th and Coldwood’s Fauve Aylmer 5th; and in the Senior Boys Ballyglass NS’s Mathys Bocquet 2nd and Craughwell’s Evan Hallinan 5th,

The top 15 athletes and top 3 teams now qualify for the finals which will be held on Saturday 21st October in St Brigids GAA Grounds in Kiltoom Co. Roscommon.

Provisional results from yesterday’s finals are here:- 2017GalwayPrimarySchoolsXC_Final_result.pdf