Club’s Athletes Dominate Schools Cross Country

Club’s Athletes Dominate Schools Cross Country

A very brief report from last Thursday’s South Connacht Schools Cross Country Championships held in Bushfield, Loughrea where yet again athletes from the club put in some powerful displays of running to claim multiple victories. I will update when official results are made available.

Ben Sharkey enjoyed his finest moment of cross country running when taking victory in the Minor Boys 2500m while Brian Loughnane placed around 8th place. Ben’s victory was the first of many for the club and also for Calasanctius Oranmore. Liam Moran continued the winning trend when taking the title in the Junior Boys 3500m, followed closely by team-mates Oisin Doyle in 2nd, James Cahalane 3rd, Matthew Barrett 5th, James Delaney 25th and Andrew O’Boyle 61st to easily win the team title for Calasanctius Oranmore.

Oranmore repeated this feat in the Intermediate Boys 5000m with Damien O’Boyle leading the way in 2nd place, Matthew Moran 3rd, Nicholas Sheehan 4th and John Cormican 8th. In fact were it not for Jamie Fallon-Spellman’s absense through injury athletes from the club would have taken a clean sweep of the individual titles in the boys races as Conor Gillen took the senior title in the final 6500m of the day. Conor was ably supported by his Athenry VS colleague and clubmate Paul Joyce who had a fine run to take 2nd place.

In the girls’ events, Dearbhaile Walshe made a welcome return to action when placing 2nd in the Minor Girls 2000m. After a quiet autumn, Grainne McDaid reignited her cross-country form in the Junior Girls 2500m when taking 5th place and in the process helping her Pres Athenry team to the team title. Ciara Greene and Linda Porter wrapped up the individual honors for athletes from the club with Ciara taking silver in the Intermediate Girls 3500m and Linda taking bronze in the Senior Girls 2500m.

Also in action but awaiting confirmation of placings, Paul Fitzpatrick in the senior boys, Laura Porter in the senior girls and Aoife Greene and Ciara O’Boyle in the minor girls.

Comments are closed.