Club’s Juvenile Athletes Dominate Primary Schools Cross Country Team Events

Club’s Juvenile Athletes Dominate Primary Schools Cross Country Team Events

This is a rather belated report on the incredible performances from athletes in the club in the primary schools cross country held the week before last in Renmore. 

Athletes from the club had their best ever year in the Primary Schools Cross Country 2 weeks ago – winning the 4 Galway team titles on offer as well as 2 sets of team silver and 2 sets of team bronze medals. The 4 races had the biggest participation rate ever – with over 850 children from 45 schools taking part.


Craughwell NS continued their fine tradition in this race with 4 sets of team medals in the 4 races – winning the Galway title in the 5th/6th class girls 1000m, placing 2nd in the 3rd/4th class boys 800m, 3rd in the 5th/6th class boys 1000m and joint 3rd in the 3rd/4th class girls 800m. In 2008, the school won 3 sets of team medals, in 2007 4 sets of team medals and in 2006 4 sets of team medals – so to repeat this performance again was something special. 

Ballymana NS had a fantastic race in the 3rd/4th class girls race where they took the Galway title in style for the first time – an indication of what’s to come in the years ahead hopefully. 

Oranmore NS are setting their own tradition in this event. Having won medals in both races in Galway and Connacht last year, they continued the winning performances by taking a fine double in the 2 boys’ races – winning the title in both of them. Such was their strength in the 3rd/4th class boys race that they’d have taken 2 sets of team medals if they had entered 2 teams!

Killeeneen NS also had a fine performance to take the silver in the 5th/6th class boys led home by club member Damien O’Boyle in 4th place  The following summarizes the team results and individual results of schools which club members attend or which are close to the club:- 

Pos3rd/4th Class Girls 800mScore Scoring Positions
1Ballymana NS75 9131835
3Craughwell NS124 4394041
4Kilnadeema NS146 16205456
10Labane NS226 35160112
12Ballyglass NS295 46738690
15Killeeneen NS356 4988100119
16Gaelscoil de hIde, Uaran Mor371 7881102110
17Scoil Mhuire Oranmore371 19101114137


Pos3rd/4th Class Boys 800mScore Scoring Positions
1Scoil Iósaif Naofa Oranmore27 13914
2Craughwell NS111 7152861
6Killeeneen NS172 13375468
11Leitrim NS258 40487397
13Ballymana NS314 1186108109
15Gaelscoil de hIde, Uaran Mor365 467896145
19Kilnadeema NS377 1688115158
31Brackloon NS, Kiltulla676 116141208211
32Ballyglass NS676 139142191204


Pos5th/6th Class Girls 1000mScore Scoring Positions
1Craughwell NS 'A'74 5102534
5Scoil Mhuire, Clarinbridge142 13203376
6Craughwell NS 'B'153 30354048
9Gaelscoil de hIde, Uaran Mor234 46476378
11Ballymana NS309 286781133
13Scoil Mhuire Oranmore312 3753103119
15Killeeneen NS322 517594102
16Brackloon NS, Kiltulla332 115882181
17Kilnadeema NS358 1885120135
20Labane NS391 5761105168
31Craughwell NS 'C'655 110176182187


Pos5th/6th Class Boys 1000mScore Scoring Positions
1Scoil Iósaif Naofa Oranmore50 561722
2Killeeneen NS120 4142676
3Craughwell NS 'A'126 16313940
8Kilnadeema NS205 30516064
11Ballymana NS234 37545984
13Scoil Mhuire, Clarinbridge267 55686975
19Gaelscoil de hIde, Uaran Mor369 329096151
24Ballyglass NS430 2041181188
25Craughwell NS 'B'445 5391142159
29Leitrim NS573 108115160190
31Kiltiernan NS604 112122176194

Individual medallists included Dearbhaile Walsh from Labane NS who finished 3rd in the 4th class girls race, just ahead of Erin Fitzpatrick, and Oranmore Boys NS duo James Cahalane and Ici Richards 1st and 3rd in the 4th class boys race. 

Pos3rd/4th Class Girls 800mSchool
3Dearbhaile WalshLabane NS
4Erin FitzpatrickCraughwell NS
7Saoirse BourkeBallinderrin NS
9Ciana ReidyBallymana NS
13Grace WhiriskeyBallymana NS
18Emma WatersBallymana NS
20Eimear LoughnaneKilnadeema NS
35Cliodhna GuildfordBallymana NS
39Katie StephensCraughwell NS
40Mary DunphyCraughwell NS
41Kate GilliganCraughwell NS
42Shonagh GilliganBallymana NS
49Rachel QuirkeKilleeneen NS
52Alice WhiriskeyBallymana NS
54Avril DonoghueKilnadeema NS
74Molly LynamBallymana NS
89Abigeal McNallyKilnadeema NS
94Amy DolanCraughwell NS
97Daire QuillCraughwell NS
100Jennifer SharkeyKilleeneen NS
108Aoife WalshCraughwell NS
111Tammy KlynsmithCraughwell NS


Pos3rd/4th Class Boys 800mSchool
1James CahalaneScoil Iósaif Naofa Oranmore
3Isi RichardsScoil Iósaif Naofa Oranmore
7Adam SmalleCraughwell NS
9Cillian DoyleScoil Iósaif Naofa Oranmore
11Dylan FinnBallymana NS
13Hugh LaneKilleeneen NS
15Alan CallananCraughwell NS
16Brian LoughnaneKilnadeema NS
20Jim CrowleyScoil Iósaif Naofa Oranmore
24Sean DelaneyScoil Iósaif Naofa Oranmore
28Jack LallyCraughwell NS
50Jack DoranCraughwell NS
61Conor RocheCraughwell NS
65Eoin FahyCraughwell NS
77Diarmuid McCartinCraughwell NS
86Kevin KennyBallymana NS
97Vinnie KennyLeitrim NS
104Sam PetersKilleeneen NS
108Vincent BoyleBallymana NS
109Keelan WoodlockBallymana NS
118Cormac DooleyBallymana NS
121Ben CreavenCraughwell NS
123Mark CunninghamCraughwell NS
177Brian McKermittKiltiernan NS


Pos5th/6th Class Girls 1000mSchool
5Grainne McDaidCraughwell NS
8Sinead TreacySt Joseph's Carrabane
10Leanne FreaneyCraughwell NS
18Katie DonoghueKilnadeema NS
25Ellen FitzpatrickCraughwell NS
28Caoimhe ReidyBallymana NS
30Lisa DoranCraughwell NS
34Andrea TobinCraughwell NS
35Emma ByrneCraughwell NS
36Emma GaffneyCraughwell NS
40Amy HynesCraughwell NS
46Muireann Ní CheallacháinGaelscoil de hIde, Uaran Mor
47Aisling Ní Chóibheanaigh Nic EoinGaelscoil de hIde, Uaran Mor
48Aisling KeadyCraughwell NS
49Aisling ConnollyCraughwell NS
51Rebecca LeahyKilleeneen NS
52Hannah RabbitteCraughwell NS
54Michelle DugganCraughwell NS
63Róisín Nic CraithGaelscoil de hIde, Uaran Mor
67Niamh CaseyBallymana NS
78Aoife Nic OistigínGaelscoil de hIde, Uaran Mor
81Nicola CahillBallymana NS
85Tara McNallyKilnadeema NS
110Laura GilliganCraughwell NS
133Jean WatersBallymana NS
176Georgia GriffinCraughwell NS
182Emer LyonsCraughwell NS
187Rebecca FordeCraughwell NS
198Sarah CostelloCraughwell NS
200Jade HomeBallymana NS


4Damian O`boyleKilleeneen NS
5Oisin DoyleScoil Iósaif Naofa Oranmore
6Jamie SpelmanScoil Iósaif Naofa Oranmore
15Brian ConcannonBrackloon NS, Kiltulla
16Cillian McDaidCraughwell NS
20Liam FordeBallyglass NS
22Aidan ConneelyScoil Iósaif Naofa Oranmore
31Matthew MolloyCraughwell NS
37Dylan MorganBallymana NS
39Ronan NevinCraughwell NS
40Eoin LallyCraughwell NS
42Nathan LynskeyScoil Iósaif Naofa Oranmore
53Adam FlynnCraughwell NS
54Niall HoranBallymana NS
57Andrew GreaneyCraughwell NS
59Oisin WoodlockBallymana NS
64Kevin RocheKilnadeema NS
67Mark BuckleyLabane NS
69William CorcoranScoil Mhuire, Clarinbridge
75Thomas CormicanScoil Mhuire, Clarinbridge
84Darragh GilliganBallymana NS
86Ciaran NevinCraughwell NS
91Jack MiskellaCraughwell NS
101Matthew GardinerScoil Mhuire, Clarinbridge
107Shane FinnBallymana NS
108Niall BroderickLeitrim NS
115Jack KennyLeitrim NS
118Ronnie GalvinBallymana NS
139Andrew O'BoyleKilleeneen NS
142Darragh CahillCraughwell NS
159Conor DolanCraughwell NS
169Sean BroderLabane NS
170Jack ReidyCraughwell NS
220Stephen McKermittKiltiernan NS
221Ultan McGlynnCraughwell NS

  Full results are on 

Comments are closed.