Congratulations! And the winners are…!

Congratulations! And the winners are…!

After a misty start, the weather was perfect and the reversal of the route didn't seem to have an adverse affect on the times, which were broadly speaking faster than last year.

Congratulations to everyone who ran and helped out – especially to the commitee of Peter (race director), Tony (club chairman), Patrick, Val and Mark.   Last year I spent the time cooped up in an office and there were only a few (admittedly nice) buns left by the time I got out.  This year however we had redtag timing and John Cuniffe's crack crew helped me both see the race and sample the amazing spread afterwards.

First home in a smashing course record of 49:12 was great Tallaght athlete Sean Connolly.  Sean went through half way in 24:38 and 10k in 30:31, but bounced home from there on, well clear of the second placed man, Paul Buckley of Ferbane AC.  Buckley had a nip and tuck battle with Matt Bidwell of GCH but had the strength to hold off the talented Harriers runner finishing in 53:06 to Bidwell's 53:20..

First lady home was again Pauline Curley who bettered her time of last year completing the course in 58:59, just ahead of Mary Scully in 59:16.  In third place was Donna Mahon in 60:53. 

The toughest battle of all was for the Open Team event which went to GCH in an amazingly close 12 seconds ahead of a super-strong combination team of Clonliffe Harriers and Rathfarnham.

The full provisional results are here in:

Provisional Results PDF Form

Provisional Results XLS Form

I see a few things that need fixing at first glance but will get back to it later!!! Please post comments with any corrections and we will try to enhance them over the coming days.  Well done again to all competitors and helpers and see you all next year hopefully!

 2011 Open Championships

Open Men:

1. Sean Connolly  49:12

2. Paul Buckley  53:06

3. Matt Bidwell 53:20


Open Women:

1. Pauline Curley 58:59

2. Mary Scully 59:16

3. Donna Mahon 60:53


Open Teams:

1. Galway City Harriers 6:08:16

2. RathLiffe 6:08:27


Open F40:

1. Collette Touhy 

2. Maura Dervin


Open F50:

1. Bernie Kelly 

2. Carmel McDomhnall




Open F60:

1. Angely MCluskey

2. Kathleen Hogan

Open M40:

1. John Harkin

2. Martin Corcoran

Open M50:

1. Tony McConmack

2. John Fallon

Open M60:

1. Tom Hunt

2. Enda Whelan


2011 Galway AAI 10-Mile Championships

Men's Team:

1. GCH

2.  Athenry

3. Craughwell


Women's Team:

 1. GCH

2.  Athenry

3. Craughwell


AAI Men:

1. Matt Bidwell

2. Rob Staunton

3. Brian O'Connor


AAI Women:

1. Regina Casey

2. Helen Corbett

3. Jean O'Connor


M40 :

 1. Martin Corcoran

2. Dermot Lowe

3. John O'Brien



1. Tony Killarney

2. Martin Kearney

3. Brian Murphy



1. TJ Beatty

2. Martin Hynes

3. Martin Keane



1. Anne Moran

2. Sharon Gilligan

3. Michelle Villaruel



1. Bernie Kelly

2. Adrienne Walsh

3. Pauline O'Halloran



1. Angela McCluskey

2. Kathleen Hogan


Comments are closed.