Connacht Awards Ceremony 2021

Connacht Awards Ceremony 2021

On Saturday night the inaugural Connacht Athletics Awards were held on Zoom to much fanfare. Host and PRO Pierce O’Callaghan of Tuam AC did an exceptional job of chairing the event which was attended by hundreds of spectators and a large number of Athletics celebrities including Irish 1500m and Mile Record holder Ray Flynn, multiple world Cross Country medalist Cathriona McKiernan, Olympians galore including Olive Loughnane, Paul Hession, Mary Cullen and many many others. The Connacht Athletics PRO job will be a hard act to follow in future years – the bar sits somewhere in the stratosphere!!!

The full awards can be watched below:

Craughwell AC won several prestigious awards, most notably the Connacht Athletic Club of the Year. The presenter spoke to the fantastic 2021 results – topping the medal tables in ALL competitions, our facility development and the hosting of events as factors in the award which was shared with Moy Valley AC of Ballina. The awards was graciously accepted by club Chairman Mark Gillen and we are very honoured to receive it.

Evan Hallinan won the jumper of the year for his outstanding results in all 3 disciplines of High Jump, Long Jump and Triple Jump. The presenter, Billy Glynn who the award was named after told some hugely interesting accounts of past greats and was very complementary of Evan’s performances. Billy’s insightful analysis was that with Evan’s strength across the board, one of his biggest challenges will be choosing the event to focus most on!

Mark presenting Shauna with her award after a fun time-trial on the track she helped build!

Shauna Bocquet of Craughwell AC was a popular winner of the Connacht Inspiration Award. Shauna is a top-class endurance athlete who has an inspirational work-ethos, but the award was won primarily for her huge work in the fundraising drive to develop the new track in Craughwell, for which she helped raise almost €50k.

Well done to all the organisers (mainly Pierce!), nominees, winners and those that weren’t nominated but are doing brilliant work anyhow!!

Comments are closed.