Connacht Secondary Schools Multi-Events

Connacht Secondary Schools Multi-Events

Shauna Tobin and Laura Cunningham pictured in Athlone IT at the Connacht Schools Multi Events
with former National Senior High Jump Champion Cathriona Farrell who now teaches in Coláiste Bhaile Chláir
and was chief official at the high jump for the day

The strength of the club in the teenage age groups was very much in evidence at the Connacht Schools Multi Events which were held in Athlone on Thursday where athletes from the club were representing their schools including Calasanctius Oranmore, Coláiste Bhaile Chláir, Pres Athenry, St Raphael’s Loughrea, St Brigid’s Loughrea and Yeats College.

Official results are unavailable as yet other than Laura Cunningham’s (Pres Athenry) victory in the Senior Girls grade where she had some fine performances particularly in the high jump where she leaped a new PB of 1.65m and in the hurdles. The high jump provided some of the top moments of the day for athletes from the club with Leanagh Gilligan (St Brigid’s) leaping a PB of 1.55m to take top spot in the Intermediate Girls high jump, Shauna Tobin (Pres Athenry) clearing a PB of 1.40m in the same event, Ellie Cronin (Pres Athenry) leaping an amazing 1.61m to win the Junior Girls high jump, Aíne Kelly (St Brigid’s) 2nd in the same event with a huge PB of 1.58m, Freya Bohan clearing a PB of 1.50m, Emma Jane Moran a huge PB of 1.45m in the Minor Girls and Jade Moorhead clearing 1.40m in the First Year Girls.

I will add official results to this article as soon as they are available.

2017 10 12 13.18.51

Freya Bohan, Aíne Kelly, Ellie Cronin and Aoife Kelly pictured in Athlone IT at the Connacht Schools Multi Events

There were many more fine performances across the grades including in the Senior Boys Ben Garrard (Yeats College); in the Intermediate Boys Oisin Lyons (Yeats College), in the Junior Girls Aoife Kelly (Pres Athenry), in the Junior Boys Conor Roberts (Coláiste Bhaile Chláir), Kyle Moorhead (Pres Athenry), Conor Trehy (Pres Athenry), James Furey (Pres Athenry), Oisin Davis (Pres Athenry), Pascal Walsh (Pres Athenry), Sean Cotter (Calasanctius); in the Minor Girls Ava Finn (Pres Athenry), Edel Farrelly (Pres Athenry), Lauren McNally (St Brigid’s), Alisha Larkin (St Raphael’s), Chloe Farragher (St Brigid’s), Triona Furey (Calasanctius), Anna Molloy (Calasanctius), Annie Dehora (Calasanctius), Hannah Hynes (Calasanctius); in Minor Boys, Ludaigh Morgan; in First Year Girls Millie Geraghty and Jade Moorhead (Pres Athenry); in First Year Boys Robert Urquhart and Tom Doran (Pres Athenry).

IMG 0481

Ava Finn and Emma Jane Moran getting their high jump marks at the Connacht Schools Multi Events

IMG 04641   IMG 04671

Ellie Cronin attempting 1.65m at the Connacht Schools Multi Events

Comments are closed.