Craughwell 10 2012 Final Results – updated

Craughwell 10 2012 Final Results – updated

Final Craughwell 10 Results are HERE

Amazing, forecast-defying weather provided the backdrop for another successful Craughwell 10 today with 700 entrants and just under 600 finishers. 

After one-man parades at the front in the last two years, the crowd were delighted to see things go to the wire this time with Barry Minnock or Rathfarnham WSAF and talented Clare warrior Michael Shannon swapping places throughout the 10 mile circuit.  In the end Minnock did enough to lead and hold his lead down the home straight to win by 2 seconds in 52:36 to Shannon's 52:38.  After he caught his breath, Minnock summed his race up as "an epic battle".  Shannon was also delighted with his own run, and it was a good one with the recent Kinvarra half-marathon still in his legs. 

3rd home overall and first Galway man was Matt Bidwell of GCH, who also picked up a Galway AAI title in the process.  

First lady home was again Pauline Curley who shaved 4 seconds off her own course record with a good finish of 58:55, completing a hat-trick of victories for her.  One of the biggest cheers of the day came for 2nd placed lady, Jane-Ann Healy of Athenry AC, also taking first Galway lads position.. And it didn't come easy.  Jane-Ann was in 4th place with a little over a mile to go, but pushed hard over the finishing stretch to pass two competitors including Fionuala Doherty of Clonliffe Harriers who finished in 3rd.

 The open team competition went to a mix of Clonliffe Harriers women and Rathfarnham men.  Second place was a pickup team from the midlands.  Third place went to a team from 2010 champions Mayo AC.

Click read more to view all the AAI results.  Thanks to Iain Shaw and facebook for the above image of the start line.


Male Overall Results

1. Barry Minnock 52:36

2. Michael Shannon 52:38

3. Matt Bidwell 53:33


 Female Overall Results

1. Pauline Curley58:55

2. Jane Ann Healy 62:57

3.  Fionuala Doherty 63:02


Veteran Overall Results


1. Fintan Hyland

2. Martin Corcoran



1. Dermot Lowe

2. Anthony McCormack



1. Martin McEvilly

2. Andrew Talbot



1. Collette Touhey 

2. Annette Keane



1. Ann McLaughlin

2. Bernie Kelly


Team Overall:

1. Rathfarnham Mix (Barry Minnock, Kevin Bolger, Brian Fury, Grainne Connor, Fionuala Doherty, Tara Whyte, Alison O'Sullivan) 6:08:07

2. Midlands Mix () 6:35:39

3. Mayo (TJ McHugh, Gary Higgins, Gerry Garvin, Collette Touhy, Annette Keane, Sharon Gilligan) 6:37:05


Galway AAI Results:


Male Teams  
1. GCH3.42.06 
2. Athenry4.06.01 
3. Craughwell4.08.15 
Female Teams 
1. Athenry4.46.16 
2. GCH5.09.27 
3. Craughwell5.11.32 
Male Overall  
1. MatthewBidwell0:53:33
2. OwenByrne0:55:47
3. FintanHyland0:56:12
1. MickRice0:59:17
2. GerryCarty0:59:40
3. Sean Hanley*1:00:35
1. TonyKillarney1:06:13
2. MartinO Donnell1:10:29
3. MichaelWelby*1:11:56
1. MartinMc Evilly1:08:06
2. AndrewTalbot1:08:30
3. TJBeatty*1:15:38
Female Overall 
1. Jane-AnnHealy1:02:57
2. DeirdreQuinn1:11:14
3. JeanO'Connor1:13:52
1. AnnetteKeane*1:14:06
2. AnneMoran1:14:23
3. SharonGilligan1:17:39
1. BernieKelly1:20:22
2. ValerieO'Reilly1:26:30
3. AdrienneWalsh1:28:41

 People with a * beside their name weren't around to collect their medal so if they can contact me I'll arrange for delivery!


Comments are closed.