Craughwell AC Athletes Dominate Cumann na mBuncoil cross country

Craughwell AC Athletes Dominate Cumann na mBuncoil cross country

A sizable contingent of athletes from the club took part in the rearranged Cumann na mBunscoil cross country last Wednesday and as has become the norm in recent years, featured very strongly across all four races in both the individual and team placings.


A very efficiently organised set of races passed off quickly on a beautiful day in Renmore. Compared with the atrocious pre-Christmas weather, the clear blue skies vindicated the organisers decision to postpone until a finer day.


The junior girls race was first to take to the Renmore pitches, where Grainne McDaid (Craughwell NS) settled into the leading group from early in the race and make a strong move with 150m remaining – taking the lead and racing home to a fine victory. She was followed home by Leanne Freaney (Craughwell NS) in 6th place and Dearbhaile Walsh (Labane NS) in 10th place. Michelle Duggan 17th, Emma Gaffney 19th and Amy Hynes 40th sealed a fine 2nd place finish for the Craughwell NS team. There was also a Killeeneen team in the race with Jennifer Sharkey from the club running well – and possibly some other club members but I need to check that out since the results only recorded the school names of most of the athletes.


In the Junior Boys race, Oisin Doyle (Oranmore Boys NS) had an outstanding race to move into a strong lead from the whistle and push strongly the entire way to the line for a fine victory. He was followed closely by teammates Eoin Rockall 3rd, James Cahalane 4th, Isi Richards 10th, Matthew Barrett 13th and Jim Crowley 19th for an unassailable victory in the team event by a large margin. Craughwell NS took 5th place in the team event, led home by Matthew Molloy in 9th place, Ronan Nevin 16th, Eoin Fahy, Jack Miskella and Alan Callanan. Again, I need to follow up on the details of the Killeeneen school team.


Craughwell NS were victorious in the Senior Girls race with a mighty show of strength that saw 4 girls finish in the top 9 to claim the team victory by a large margin – with Emma Byrne leading the team home in 4th place, followed by Ellen Fitzpatrick in 6th, Hannah Rabbitte 8th, Ashling Connolly 9th and Laura Gilligan 29h.

In the Senior Boys race, Damien O’Boyle (Killeeneen) had a fine performance to take individual silver, with Jamie Spelman (Oranmore) in 4th. The Craughwell team narrowly pipped Oranmore by 3 points to take 2nd place with their team led by Cillian McDaid in 8th, Ciaran Nevin 17th, Andrew Greaney 21st, Adam Flynn 25th, Eoin Lally and Conor Dolan.

Further details on the results are as follows:

PosJunior GirlsSchool
1Grainne McDaidCraughwell NS
2Roisin Ni FhloinnScoil Fhursa
3Erin CoileCorrandulla
4Nianh KeanePres Athenry
5Sarah McDonnellScoil Fhursa
6Leanne FreaneyCraughwell NS
7Maeve MoranClaregalway
8Eimear KeanePres Athenry
9Caitriona MoranClaregalway
10Dearbhaile WalshLabane NS
1Scoil Fhursa30 pts (2,5,11,12)
2Craughwell NS43 pts (1,6,17,19)
3Claregalway49 pts (7,9,13,20)
4Pres Athenry64 pts (4,8,23,29)
PosJunior BoysSchool
1Oisin DoyleOranmore Boys
2John MaherScoil Fhursa
3Eoin RockallOranmore Boys
4James CahalaneOranmore Boys
5Niall KennyNew Inn
6Padraic ComminsClaregalway
7Bronson KellyMilltown
8Jade CoyleRenmore
9Matthew MolloyCraughwell NS
10Ici RichardsOranmore Boys
1Oranmore Boys18 pts (1,3,4,10)
2Killeeneen86 pts (11,24,45,73)
3Scoil Fhursa111 pts (2,12,44,53)
4Claregalway121 pts (6,14,47,54)
5Craughwell 143 pts (9,16,45,73)
PosSenior GirlsSchool
1Sarah Jane FoxCladdagh
2Rachel O'BrienCregmore
3Shauna HynesMilltown
4Emma ByrneCraughwell
5Maeve GallagherPres Athenry
6Ellen FitzpatrickCraughwell
7Aisling MorrishSt James Bushy Park
8Hannah RabbitteCraughwell
9Ashling ConnollyCraughwell
10Amy KellyNew Inn
1Craughwell27 pts (4,6,8,9)
2Cregmore80 pts (2,11,16,51)
3Renmore88 pts (15,23,24,26)
PosSenior BoysSchool
1Connor MelodyGael Scoil Dara
2Damien O'BoyleKilleeneen
3Samuel SamsonCladdagh
4Jamie SpelmanOranmore
5Keegan KellyMilltown
6Jamie KellyAthenry
7Ryan FordeCorrandulla
8Cillian McDaidCraughwell
9 St Pats Tuam
10 Cregmore
1Corandulla60 pts (7,12,18,23)
2Craughwell71 pts (8,17,21,25)
3Oranmore Boys74 pts (4,19,24,27)
4Killeeneen118 pts (2,16,48,52)
5Gaelscoil Dara151 pts (1,15,66,69)


Comments are closed.