Craughwell NS Make History! (updated)

Craughwell NS Make History! (updated)

Another wonderful day of athletics took place in Leitrim Gaels Community Pitch today with the Connacht Primary Schools Cross Country Championships. It was a special special day for Craughwell NS who took team medals in each of the 4 races – an historic achievement by the school and the first time I believe that any school has achieved such a feat in this event.

This event is widely regarded as the top measure of athletism amongst primary school children in Connacht and to win 4 sets of team medals is remarkable. The table on the left (click it to see the detail) shows how the school has fared in previous years, being to the fore on many occasions but never as much as this year. A fantastic well done to the 4 teams, their parents and their hard-working coaches :-).

And it wasn’t just Craughwell NS who were in flying form with some fantastic runs from other athletes in the club including Sean Cotter (Gaelscoil de hIde) who placed 8th in the senior boys, Cian Lavan (Clarinbridge NS) who placed 6th in the juniors boys, and Ballymana NS duo Daniel Galvin (12th in the junior boys) and Asia Clarke (51st in senior girls) and Clarinbridge NS who placed 5th team in the senior girls, led home by Saoirse Moore 34th, Aoibhe Carr 35th, Eve Ayo 65th, Heather Hogan 74th, Katie Scully 97th, Stella Marxer 99th.

But to recap on the Craughwell NS results – the junior boys took home the team gold led by fantastic running from Evan Hallinan in individual 3rd place, the junior girls took home team bronze led by the in-form Clodagh O’Meara in 13th place, the senior boys took home team bronze led by long-distance supremo Adam Stewart and the senior girls took team silver led by a superb run from Emily Miskella in 10th place. More later when I get full results.

Full details of the team socring were Junior Girls 3rd Craughwell NS with 137 points (13 Clodagh O’Meara, 28 Sadhbh Irwin, 43 Chloe Hallinan, 53 Sarah Byrne, 76 Grace Lynch, 109 Jenny Cloonan), Junior Boys 1 Craughwell NS 105 points (3 Evan Hallinan, 22 Luke Flynn, 32 Evan Moran, 48 Alex Duggan, 64 Daniel Gilligan, 78 Cormac McFadden), Senior Girls 2 Craughwell NS 126 points (10 Emily Miskella, 33 Aoife Kelly, 41 Rebekah Flynn, 42 Jade Moorhead, 45 Molly Sullivan, 54 Emma Jane Moran); Senior Boys 3 Craughwell NS 145 points (21 Adam Stewart, 35 Shaun Gilligan, 39 Ross McGuinness, 50 Eoin Byrne, 58 Darragh McCartin).


A quick note on these performance – Emily Miskella’a 10th place finish places her joint highest at the top of the school’s performances in the Senior Girls race, joining none other than Cathriona Farrell at the helm! Evan Hallinan’s 3rd place finish in the Junior Boys race is the first time that the school has had made the top 3 individuals in any of the boys races! While we had a number of fallers in some of the races today who bounced up like basketballs to continue running and place very highly including Alex Duggan and Danny Gilligan in the Junior Boys and Jade Moorhead in the Senior Girls.

A super day was rounded off by another brilliant result with Jason Broderick winning the Connacht Senior Men’s 8k at the same venue later in the day!

Results are here – had to reformat into individual files as they too large to upload to the website:-

Well done everyone!! And well done to the organisers on hosting what is always a difficult day to organise with lots of hyperactive children, parents and coaches to keep happy 🙂

Comments are closed.