Galway Athletics Team of the Year!

Galway Athletics Team of the Year!

Craughwell AC’s U20 Women’s Team at the European Club Championships in Portugal

Massive congratulations to Craughwell AC’s history-making European U20 women’s team who have won the Galway Athletics Team of the Year Award for 2019. The team comprised from left-to-right above

  • Sinead Gaffney (team physio)
  • Shauna Tobin (discus)
  • Arlene Earls (200m / 800m / 4x400m)
  • Laura Cunningham (team captain and long jump / javelin / 4x100m)
  • Ciana Reidy (pole vault / 4x400m)
  • Leanagh Gilligan (triple jump)
  • Siona Lawless (100m)
  • Aoife Kelly (hammer)
  • Caoilin Milton (shot)
  • Lorraine Delaney (vice-captain and 400mh / 4x400m)
  • Eva Whyte (4x100m sub)
  • Aisling Keady (joint team manager)
  • Sarah Woods (3000m)
  • Ciara Sheppard (1500m)
  • Ailbhe Miskella (steeplechase)
  • Alisha Larkin (100m / 4x100m)
  • Ava Finn (100m / 4x100m)
  • Lauren McNally (4x100m sub)
  • Ellie Cronin (high jump /100mh)
  • Freya Bohan (400m / 4x400m / 4x100m)

The European Championships which were held in Portugal last September was the biggest team event in the club’s history and its fantastic now that the team have also won the Galway Athletics Team of the Year Award.

Well done also and thank you to the hard-working volunteers in Galway County Board who organise these Awards and to the Galway 5k Series Committee whose hard-work has provided the funds for this and many other County Board initiatives over many years.

Everyone is now looking forwards to the awards ceremony on Friday week.

Comments are closed.