Great Day at Galway XC Championships in Tuam

Great Day at Galway XC Championships in Tuam

Caron Ryan, Galway U18 Champion 2016

The first day of the Galway club cross country championships got underway on Sunday at the Palace Grounds in Tuam with the highest number of participants ever in the juvenile races.

Craughwell’s U10 girls were first into action on their 1k loop with some fantastic performances which yielded the team title with a score of 33 points. The team were led home by Sophie McIlrath in 2nd place with Gillian Crowe 5th, Sara Craven 9th, Claudia McGuinness 17th, Kathlynn Walsh 20th, Orlaith Murphy 21st, Lillian Walsh 23rd, Aoife O’Meara 27th, Hannah Mangan 28th, Amelie Bocquet 29th, Chloe Keane 30th, Orna McNamna 31st, Clara Rooney 32nd, Oshini Maria 34th and Isobel Whyte 42nd. The U10 boys took silver medals in their 1k with 49 points led home by Luke O’Sullivan in 10th place, Fionn Higgins 11th, Daire Kelly 12th, Keelan Moorhead 16th, Sean Lavan 17th, Ben Moran 20th, Eoin Woods 30th and Matthew Coleman 33rd.


Craughwell AC’s U12 Girls Cross Country Team at the Galway Championships in Tuam


Craughwell AC’s U12 Boys Cross Country Team, Galway Champions 2016

In the U12 2000m, the Craughwell girls team just lost out on bronze when placing 4th with 62 points, tied with Ballinasloe but just losing on countback of 4th place position. Craughwell were led home by Clodagh O’Meara in 7th place, followed by Fauve Aylmer 13th, Jade Moorhead 14th, Abbie Rooney 28th, Erin Doyle 36th, Grace Leen 37th, Holly O’Boyle 38th and Rachel Kinane 39th. The Craughwell boys team had a strong run to take the gold medals with 27 points with Cian Lavan and Mathys Bocquet taking 2nd and 3rd place followed by Luke Flynn 10th, Evan Hallinan 12th, Cormac McFadden 19th, Lucas Keane 20th, Killian Walsh 21st, Alan Connaughton 24th and Michael Woods 28th.

In the U14 3000m, the Craughwell girls took the silver medals with 47 points led home by Ellie Cronin 10th, Rebekah Flynn 11th, Emma Jane Moran 12th, Asia Clarke 14th and Alisha Larkin 19th. While a strong boys team raced to the Galway title with 17 points where Sean Cotter took the club’s first individual gold medal of the day followed by Liam Leen in 3rd, Ross McGuinness 5th, Oisin Davis 8th, Paschal Walsh 12th, Dara McCartin 13th, James Furey 15th, Noah Keane 18th and Aoran Healey 20th.


Craughwell AC’s U14Boys Cross Country Team, Galway Champions 2016

In the U16 girls 4000m, Catherine Noonan raced to individual bronze medal while Sarah Woods took 7th place. While in the boys 4000m, Ben Ryan and William Fitzgerald had fine runs to place 2nd and 3rd with Patrick Noonan 7th, Finbar McFadden 8th, Sean Noonan 9th, Kyle Moorhead 10th and Conor Murphy 15th. The team took the Galway title with 20 points. Caron Ryan took the Galway title in the U18 girls 4000m in fine style with Aoife Greene 7th.

In the Senior Men’s 8000m, Peter O’Sullivan placed 4th and in the process took the silver medal in the senior category, leading the Craughwell team to bronze medals with Ollie Mullins 8th, Johnny Lane 12th and Michael Walsh 22nd.

Full results of the day are here:-




Craughwell AC’s U14 Girls Cross Country Team, silver medallists in the Galway team championship 2016


Craughwell AC’s U16 Boys Cross Country Team, Galway Champions 2016
Sean Noonan, Patrick Noonan, Conor Murphy, Ben Ryan, Finbar McFadden, Kyle Moorhead, William Fitzgerald

Comments are closed.