Interest Heats Up for Galway XC Championships

Interest Heats Up for Galway XC Championships

We are only 2 weeks away now from day 1 of the Galway XC Championships. The first day is the Even Ages and Adult Cross Country Championships which will be held in Loughrea AC’s fabulous grounds at Bushfield (on the Bullaun road) on Sunday 6th October at 1pm.

Races will commence with the U10 girls at 1pm and will culminate with the senior races later in the afternoon. This year the senior distances have been set to align with the U18 distances so that all U18s and older can compete in the same race to provide better competition for both juniors and seniors.

Race order and distances are as follows:-



  • U10 Girls 800m
  • U10 Boys 800m
  • U12 Girls 1500m
  • U12 Boys 1500m
  • U14 Girls 2000m
  • U14 Boys 2500m
  • U16 Girls 3000m
  • U16 Boys 3500m
  • Junior/Senior/Masters Men 6000m
  • Junior/Senior/Masters Women 4000m

Craughwell AC have fielded some fantastic teams right up along the age groups in this event in previous years and hope to do same on this occasion. Last year. Last year when these same athletes were a year younger, they racked up some super performances at the same venue,  with the boys completely dominating with team victories in the  U11, U13, U15 and U17 age groups and the girls taking victory in the U11s.

This year our outstanding group of older teenage boys will be competing in the senior race for the first time and it promises to be an intriguing race as they battle it out for the honours against Galway’s best seniors.

The individual race should throw up some interesting battles with Loughrea’s Peter O’Sullivan going for 3-in-a-row having won back to back victories in 2012 and 2011 with Craughwell. The last 9 years of senior cross country have been dominated by 3 runners who between them took all but 2 of the titles.

2012Peter O’SullivanCraughwell AC
2011Peter O’SullivanCraughwell AC
2010Gary ThorntonGalway City Harriers
2009Gary ThorntonGalway City Harriers
2008Matthew LockettGalway City Harriers
2007Paul McNamaraAthenry AC
2006Paul McNamaraAthenry AC
2005Gary ThorntonGalway City Harriers
2004Michael O’ConnorGalway City Harriers

Will 2013 see a new name at the helm of Galway cross country running.

The women’s event is much more open with a new face taking the honours each year bar one. So plenty to look forward to on 6th October.

2012Irene GormanGalway City Harriers
2011Thelma McMahonLoughrea AC
2010Laura ShaughnessyLoughrea AC
2009Kathryn CasserlyCastlegar AC
2008Orla Ni MhuircheartaighGalway City Harriers
2007Ann CarterAthenry AC
2006Anne Marie Hynes-MiskellGalway City Harriers
2005Regina CaseyGalway City Harriers
2004Kathryn CasserlyCastlegar AC
Comments are closed.