Outstanding performances in primary schools xc

Outstanding performances in primary schools xc


A massive well done to our local schools on some outstanding performances at the Galway Primary Schools cross country finals on a glorious day in Renmore.


The races got underway with the 3/4th class girls 800m at noon. Craughwell NS’s Clodagh O’Meara had yet another outstanding race to lead her team to victory with Clodagh placing 7th followed by Sadhbh Irwin 19th, Chloe Hallinan 22nd, Grace Lynch 29th, Sarah Byrne 39th and Jennry Cloonan 67th.

There were fine runs also from Jade Whelton (Ballymana NS) who finished an impressive 16th, Anna Cotter 18th (Gaelscoil de hÍde) and Molly Garrard 23rd (Kilcolgan ETNS).

Next up the boys 800m where Evan Hallinan powered home to individual silver, splitting the famous Mannion twins into 1st and 3rd. Cian Lavan (Clarinbridge) had an impressive run to place next from the club in 6th with Ballymana’s Daniel Galvin 7th. A rapid finish saw Luke Flynn next in for Craughwell NS in 12th, with teammates Alex Duggan 30th, Danny Gilligan 42nd, Cormac McFadden 52nd and Evan Moran 56th – to take the team bronze for Craughwell. An unlucky tumble to Evan Moran on the first bend was significant as the top 3 teams were seperated by a handful of points with Kinvara taking gold on 82 points, Lisheenkyle silver on 85 points and Craughwell bronze on 86 points.

The 5th/6th class girls races saw fine performances from both Craughwell and Clarinbridge when taking team gold and team silver. Emily Miskella led the Craughwell NS team home to victory when placing 7th and was followed home by Jade Moorhead 12th, Aoife Kelly 18th, Rebekah Flynn 20th, Molly Sullivan 24th and Emma Jane Moran 36th. Clarinbridge were led home by Stella Marxer in 6th, followed by Aoibhe Carr 16th, Saoirse Moore 19th, Eve Ayo 43rd, Ailbhe Whyte 81st. There were fine performances also from Ballymana’s Ava Finn and Asia Clarke n 9th and 15th, and Killeeneen’s Caoimhe Connolly in 14th.

Final race of the day saw a fabulous victory for Clarinbridge’s Liam Leen with Sean Cotter (Gaelscoil de hÍde) in 4th. and Killeeneen’s Sam O’Neill 11th. Shaun Gilligan led the Craughwell NS team to silver medals with a 1th place finish followed by Adam Stewart 20th, Jack Farrell 40th, Gavin Kelly 41st, Eoin Byrne 42nd, Ross McGuinness 55th.

There were many more fine performances down through the field. Full results are here.

 IMG 3335


IMG 3332


IMG 3330

Comments are closed.