Penney Breaks Two Metres in League Day 2

Penney Breaks Two Metres in League Day 2

The National League continued today in Athlone in force. The performance of the day came from Conor Penney who sailed over 2m on his second attempt after just grazing it the first time. Conor was in exceptional form in his first competition in nearly 9 months after missing all of the outdoor season last year from injury. Conor decided to stop jumping after clearing 2m so he finished the day on a high. He won the competition when he cleared 1.85 on his first attempt, then clearing 1.90 on the second, 1.95 on the first and finally the mighty milestone of two metres raised the cheer of the day in the stadium! This is new Indoor club record, eclipsing Jerry Keary’s long standing 1.98m from 2016. (Jerry still has the club outdoor record at a mighty 2.07m but I’m sure Conor is eyeing that one up!)

There were other excellent performances from the men including Jack Miskella’s gutsy 4.04 in the League 1500m, Ronnie Warde’s fine 9m shot throw. Josh Whyte leaped to a solid 4.99m in the Long Jump. Keelan Moorhead smashed his 400m pb on the track to run 54.84, but was caught out with a lane infringement so will have to do it again to make it official. As usual, the last event was a relay and the team of Joshua Whyte, Oisin Davis, Jack Miskella and Toyosi George each ran almost identical splits to set a 1:39 showing. When the scores were totted up, Craughwell men came 8th with 75 points and qualify for the final.

The ladies were captained as usual by Sarah Finnegan and they came agonisingly close to qualifying – missing out by a single point! This is the first time the Craughwell AC ladies haven’t made the final and they were gutted! They were up against it after the skeleton crew from the last day so it was great to get this close. Talismanic Sinead Treacy delivered once again with a superb 2nd place in the 400m. Eva Kelleher was 5th in the high Jump with 1.50, coming oh-so close to clearing a 1.55 which would have won it. Sinead Gaffney ran a smart race in a difficult women’s 1500m, finishing with 4:51.02. In the final event, the relay, Lauren Kilduff , Sinead Treacy, Arlene Earls and Emma O’Donovan ran very strongly to finish with a fine 1:47.27 time.

League Results:
Senior Men High Jump Indoor: 1. Conor Penney (2m!)
Senior Men Long Jump Indoor: 10. Joshua Whyte (4.99)
Senior Men 1500m Indoor: 3. Jack Miskella (4:04.54)
Senior Men 400m Indoor: 0. Keelan Moorhead (54.84 but DQ)
Senior Men 4x200m Relay Indoor: 8. Craughwell AC (1:39.74)
Senior Men 60m Sprint Indoor: 9. Toyosi George (7.52)
Senior Men Shot Put Indoor (7.26kg): 6. Ronnie Warde (9.03)
Senior Women 1500m Indoor: 5. Sinead Gaffney (4:51.02)
Senior Women 400m Indoor: 2. Sinead Treacy (57.06)
Senior Women 60m Sprint Indoor: 10. Lauren Kilduff (8.12)
Senior Women 4x200m Relay Indoor: 5. Craughwell AC (1:47.27)
Senior Women High Jump Indoor: 5. Eva Kelleher (1.5)
Senior Women Long Jump Indoor: 6. Siona Lawless (4.57)
Senior Women Shot Put Indoor (4kg): 6. Laura Cunningham (8.66)

Guest Events

As well as the league, there was a very high quality guest competiton and we saw some excellent results. Patrick Noonan had a superb 3:57 1500m season opener, sitting behind clubmate Oisin Davis for the first 5 laps and absolutely blowing away in the last two laps while Oisin struggled to find his wheels and finished in 4:08. Luke O’Sullivan in the “B” 1500m had a fantastic race to finish with a 4:11 personal best.

Lauren Kilduff is looking a class athlete and came oh-so close to breaking the 26-second barrier in the 200m. It will go soon! Darragh Kelly leaped a brilliant 1.80m in the high Jump – I think this is a personal best for Darragh? Sean Liston cleared 1.70m just behind. Michael Burke made his debut for the club with a fine 54.51s 400m. All the other results are below – well done to everyone!

Guest Results
Senior Men 1500m Indoor: 7. Patrick Noonan (3:57.79)
Senior Men 1500m Indoor: 13. Oisin Davis (4:08.56)
Senior Men 1500m Indoor: 14. Luke O’Sullivan (4:11.31)
Senior Men 200m Sprint Indoor: 12. Toyosi George (23.92)
Senior Men 200m Sprint Indoor: 21. Joshua Whyte (26.85)
Senior Men 400m Indoor: 11. Michael Burke (54.51)
Senior Men 60m Sprint Indoor: 20. Donnacha Lawless (7.56)
Senior Men 60m Sprint Indoor: 27. Donnacha Lawless (7.54)
Senior Men High Jump Indoor: 1. Darragh Kelly (1.8)
Senior Men High Jump Indoor: 2. Sean Liston (1.7)
Senior Women 200m Sprint Indoor: 7. Lauren Kilduff (26.04)
Senior Women 60m Sprint Indoor: 0. Emma O’Donovan (DNS)
Senior Women 60m Sprint Indoor: 19. Lauren Kilduff (8.10)
Senior Women 60m Sprint Indoor: 23. Emily Kinane (9.14)
Senior Women 60m Sprint Indoor: 29. Emily Kinane (8.99)
Senior Women Long Jump Indoor: 4. Emily Kinane (3.74)

Comments are closed.