Results of Craughwell 10k Handicap Chase: Race 3

Results of Craughwell 10k Handicap Chase: Race 3

17 hardy souls turned up early Sunday morning to run the 3rd race in the Craughwell Handicap Chase 10k Series. Nice weather conditions early in the morning were replaced by some nasty showers shortly before the race started, with these easing to a steady drizzle by the time 8.30am arrived.

If the series had a prize for most dedicated runner, it would certainly go to Keith Comyn from Eagle AC in Co. Cork who travelled to Craughwell specially for the race, staying overnight because of the early start. Keith has recently taken up the sport and had run a few longer races in Munster in the past few weeks. He had not run a 10k race before this weekend and was specifically looking for a race over that distance. Consulting the country's premier race calendar on, Keith decided to use Craughwell for his inaugural 10k and ran a very respectable 48:39 over the distance. Well done Keith! The 'most dedicated runner' accolade could equally be awarded to either Bernie Kelly or Josephine Gardiner who both ran the Carramore 10k race in Mayo on Saturday evening and arose early to tackle the Craughwell 10k the following morning.

Top 3 places in the Craughwell 10k on this occasion went to three runners who were each making their debut in the 10k series – Triona Coppinger, Valerie Fogarty and Dervilla Darcy. Triona's handicap of 75 minutes was based on a recent 35 minute time for 3 miles – and boy did she blitz that time on Sunday, breaking the hour in an incredible 59:03 PB and winning the race in the process. Val and Dervilla, both new recruits to Craughwell AC, ran equally impressive races to take 2nd and 3rd place on the day and knocking chunks off their handicaps in PB times of 50:33 and 55:54. Fantastic running that augurs well for our Craughwell Women's team in road races over the summer and maybe in cross-country in the autumn!

Top three men on the day were Tony O'Callaghan, Tony Nevin and Noel Gorman who finished within 7 seconds of each other and all broke their target times by over 30 seconds. Noel Craughwell took advantage of the absence of some of the overall top 5 to finish as 4th man home and to move up from 10th place to 3rd place in the overall leadership.

Snapping at Noel's heels in both the race and in the leadership table, Darragh O'Brien ran a PB to go under 37 minutes for the first time, recording the fastest time of the day in 36:54. Mick Rice sporting a strapped ankle, ran the next fastest time of 37:35.

Results of Sunday were as follows:

PosRace TimeBibNameAvg Pace/K
100:59:0344Triona Coppinger00:05:54
200:50:3346Valerie Fogarty00:05:03
300:55:5443Dervilla Darcy00:05:35
400:49:2122Tony O'Callaghan00:04:56
500:43:0323Tony Nevin00:04:18
600:53:2816Noel Gorman00:05:21
700:49:5339Noel Craughwell00:04:59
800:36:5410Darragh O'Brien00:03:41
900:40:028Wally Walsh00:04:00
1000:43:4531Philip Magnier00:04:23
1100:48:4426John Raftery00:04:52
1200:53:5637Ian Quinn00:05:24
1300:42:5917Gerry Fahey00:04:18
1400:48:3945Keith Comyn00:04:52
1500:49:334Bernie Kelly00:04:57
1600:37:3541Mick Rice00:03:46
1700:44:417Josephine Gardiner00:04:28

As the final race of the series approaches, the overall lead in the men's race remains the same as 2 weeks ago, but Noel Craughwell has moved into third place. Any of the top 3 are still in with a chance of taking the overall men's prize. 

The women's table is a closer affair, with Kathleen Waters in the lead on 22 points but under pressure from a number of runners who could take top place with a strong final race.

Entry #Name CategoryR1R2R3R4Best2# RacesPoints
16Noel GormanM161612 32335
40Liam NolanM1713  30232
39Noel CraughwellM15011 26228
10Darragh O'BrienM21110 21324
8Wally WalshM1279 21324
38Deny JonesM1012  22224
18Tony FitzpatrickM417  21223
17Gerry FaheyM0155 20222
13Kathleen WatersF146  20222
22Tony O'CallaghanM2314 17320
31Philip MagnierM788 16319
33Owen CurrenM89  17219
44Triona CoppingerF0017 17118
46Valerie FogartyF0016 16117
23Tony NevinM0213 15217
43Dervilla DarcyF0015 15116
4Bernie KellyF2103 13316
26John RafteryM257 12315
3Brian MurphyM112  13215
28John RusheM014  14115
14Anne KellyF130  13114
37Ian QuinnM206 8210
24Helen ColemanF90  9110
2Michael TobinM24  628
34Peter DelmerM60  617
7Josephine GardinerF202 426
41Mick RiceM022 426
5Alan BurkeM50  516
27John O'ConnorM22  426
45Keith CoymnM004 415
25Mary PrendergastF30  314
9Emmet FarrellM20  213
35James LundonM20  213
1Mark DavisM00  000
6Gabriel GardinerM00  000
11Sinead DavisF00  000
12Alison FinnF00  000
15Sharon RafteryF00  000
19Maria GaffneyF00  000
20Diane DundonF00  000
21Marie CallananF00  000
29Nuala KeadyF00  000
32Gerry MastersonM00  000
36Ann Marie Hynes-MiskellF00  000

The Craughwell 10k Series Perpetual Cup is up for grabs in the final race for fastest time in the Series. At present, Michael Tobin is in the lead with 36:49 from the first race but this looks very much under threat from the fast improving Darragh O'Brien who ran 36:54 on Sunday. Also in serious contention for the fastest time are Athenry's Mick Rice and Peter Delmer, both of whom have recorded faster times in the AAI 10K a few weeks ago but have been prevented by injury from repeating this in the Craughwell series. An injury free weekend for them in two weeks time will make the race for fastest time in 2 weeks time a very interesting battle.

The following is the fastest times in the series so far:-

00:36:49Michael TobinRace 1
00:36:54Darragh O'BrienRace 3
00:37:35Mick RiceRace 3
00:39:33Owen CurrenRace 2
00:40:02Peter DelmerRace 1
00:40:02Wally WalshRace 3
00:40:04Alan BurkeRace 1
00:40:20Josephine GardinerRace 1
00:40:23John O'ConnorRace 1
00:41:14Brian MurphyRace 1



Comments are closed.