Streets of Galway 2015

Streets of Galway 2015

Just under 2400 runners took to the “Streets of Galway” for the 30th anniversary running of what is a key event in the running calendar for many local and national athletes. With a packed field including some of Ireland’s potential Olympic athletes for Rio 2016, this race was never going to disappoint. Taking in some of Galway’s most well know land marks it has a special place in many people’s hearts. The rain held off for the most part, with at least half of the field home before the showers returned.

This year the club had chosen the ‘Streets’ as a target race, with training starting in earnest at the end of June. Just under 40 members participated with an impressive number of personal bests achieved, testament to all the hard effort put in over the last 8 weeks.

Photo by Paul O’Connor

Gary Thornton (GCH) crossed the finish line in 23.53 taking first place on the podium followed by Sergiu Clobanu (Clonliffe Harriers) in 24.12, leaving Kenneth Rodgers, St Johns AC, to finish third in 24.58.
Maria McCambridge (Dundrum South Dublin) took the top spot for the ladies in 26.58 with a very close battle for second and third from two local champions, Regina Casey (GCH) in 28.55 and Jane Ann Healy (Athenry AC) finishing 3rd in 28.59.

First home for the club was Jason Broderick in 26:13, placing 7th overall, fantastic performance by Jason. Damien Larkin was next to cross the line in 28.04, with Tom Prendergast following in 29.11, taking the top spot in his age group. Piotr Prokop returning from a long layoff crossed the line in 30.16 followed by Mike O’Mahony in 31:31 (31:25 chip), a substantial PB from Mike, with Michael Walsh next home in 32.27 (32.21 chip).

Steve Carty shaved 1:48 off his previous time finishing in 34:08 (33:49 chip) with Noel Gorman and Keith Devane both posting PBs (in excess of one minute) of 35:44 (35:26 chip) and 36:18 (35:59 chip) respectively. Joseph Coyle soon followed in a time of 37:11 (36:50 chip), with Diarmuid Quill who only returned to running last week following injury home in 42:17 (41:58 chip). Good to have you back Diarmuid. James Divineys time of 46:02 (43:49 chip) and Kieran O’Leary in 00:49:03 (48:46 chip) conclude the men’s field.

First home in the Ladies was Niamh Flavin in 35:25 (35:08 chip), posting a 2.5 minute PB, closely followed by Deirdre Devane in 36:17 (35:55 chip) another PB, shaving more than a minute off her previous 8k time. Rena Deely was next in for the ladies in 41:01 (38:52 chip), with Fiona Kelly next to cross the line in 42:45 (42:08 chip) notching up another PB. Mairead Lane came home in 44:06 (43:31 chip) beating her time from 2013, with Fiona Diviney 44:43 (43:34 chip) and Helen Van De Beek 44:51 (44:19 chip) both picking up yet another couple of well-deserved PBs.


Aine McGuinness took minutes off her previous time crossing the line in 46:26 (46:08 chip), great running Aine with Edel Cannon in shortly behind her in 52:32 (50:19 chip). Other PBs recorded on the night include Trish Dolan 53:41 (51:31 chip), Rosaleen Beattie 00:53:25 (00:51:54 chip) and Marese Walsh 00:55:06 (53:35 chip). Edel Kavanagh made a welcome return to racing in a time of 53:22 (51:09 chip). Julie Gallagher 53:45 (51:38 chip) Valerie Slattery 53:45 (51:37 chip) and Sheila Cannon 1:11:51(1:09:38 chip) also put in fine performances.

A number of Fit for Life members took on the distance for the first time and stormed home, including Eimear O’Connor 49:15 (47:46 chip), Carol Brady 51:01 (49:27 chip), Margaret Foy 51:55 (50:21 chip), Lisa Mccormack 51:57 (50:23 chip), Laura Davoren 50:59 (49:25 chip), Aoife Tormey 53:25 (51:55 chip) and Rachel O’Connor, 54:59 (53:22 chip). Great Running from all.

A big congratulations to Galway City Harries for what was an excellent event as always. Looking forward to next year already.

Comments are closed.