Time change for Craughwell 10.

Time change for Craughwell 10.

2017 Galway 10 Mile County Championship on March 19th – Craughwell 10 Mile Road Race 

The 8th running of the Craughwell 10 mile road race will take place on Sunday 19th March at 11.15 am.  Going from strength to strength each year this race continues to attract a 400 strong field of runners from all corners of Ireland.  This year we have an exciting new route that brings the runners through Craughwell Village before they head off along by Moyode wood, onto Kilconerion, Ganty and finishing at Gilligan Park just outside Craughwell Village. The race is chipped timed with a finisher’s medal for all competitors. Craughwell AC are delighted to have ‘Revive Active’ as their main sponsors this year. 

Attracting the best of both National and local running legends down through the years it’s always an exciting watch.  A new course record is up for grabs on the day with the new route! Our previous route was always a hotly contended affair with the mens course record being held by Sean Connolly of Tallaght AC in 2011 coming home in 49:12 and the womens course record of 57.44 set in 2013 by Eilish Kelly of Raheny Shamrock AC. Other race winners down though the years include Mick Clohisey, Pauline Curley, Jane-Ann Meehan and 2016 winners both hailed from the Galway City Harriers Club -Matt Bidwell and Sarah Collins. Both participants had the following to say about the event.

Matt: “The Craughwell 10 miler is one of my favourite road races in the calendar. It is always well supported by athletes both locally and nationally and it’s a great opportunity to pit yourself against the best over the classic threshold distance. After 7 years of trying I finally managed to win this race in 2016 and it would go down as one of my fondest memories in over 15 years of distance running. I’m really looking forward to defending my title in 2017 and the new course promises to add an extra dimension to this event. Finally it would be amiss if I didn’t mention the famous post-race spread which is a just reward after a hard race workout!”

Sarah: “Having ran the Craughwell 10 a few of years ago (when I was relatively new to racing) and seeing what a well organised, professional event it was, it was on my list of races to complete in 2016. 
Last year was no exception that same level of organisation coupled with a fantastic route means it appeals to runners of all abilities. Winning it was not something I had thought about, it was to get out there and get around it in a good time. The encouragement I received from fellow runners carried me over the line, delighted and surprised to be 1st female. It is a brilliant event and highly recommended for all to get out there and take part

Race Head Quarters and registration is at St Michaels Hall in Craughwell Village. The race start line is approx 0.5 miles from the hall and after the 10 mile trek participants finish approx 0.25 miles from race HQ on the opposite side of the village where each will receive the coveted C10 Medal – so just a short post race cool down back to the hall for the now infamous post-race refreshments and prize giving. The following are the prize categories for this years race – 1st, 2nd 3rd Female, 1st, 2nd 3rd Male, 1st F/Male O40, 1ST F/Male O50, 1ST F/Male O60, 10th Male and Female finishers and 1st Male and 1st Female Team. In addition to the above prize categories the County Board offer the following prizes – 1st/2nd/3rd Male/Female Senior, Masters 035, O50 and O65, 1st/2nd/3rd Male/Female teams of four finishers. Registration is now open for this event on active.com.


Craughwell 10 Race Director Gerry Treacy, Breege Connolly (Olympian), Fiona Diviney (Craughwell AC Vice Chairperson) and John Ward (Craughwell AC Secretary) 

Craughwell AC members launching this year’s Craughwell 10 mile race on March 19th with the race sponsor ‘Revive Active’ representative Joe Duane

Comments are closed.